Trailers | Dark Matter Season 3, Wynonna Earp Season 2

The Joseph Mallozzi YouTube account reposts the Syfy trailer for Dark Matter, which has a two-hour third season premiere on SPACE and Syfy June 9, 2017 at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT. Dark Matter settles into its regular timeslot starting June 16, 2017 at 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT. In the interest of related show promotion, the IGN-hosted trailer for Wynonna Earp’s second season is included in this post, as it follows Dark Matter on SPACE and Syfy at 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT.

Wynonna Earp initially aired its first season on CHCH in Canada, while Dark Matter has always been acquired programming for SPACE. SPACE currently airs Wynonna Earp’s first season Fridays at 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT. The lineup is part of SPACE’s 2017 summer season, which includes the final season of Orphan Black and the third season of Killjoys. Dark Matter and Wynonna Earp are both comic book adaptations, so it makes sense to pair the two shows for Friday night programming.

In Gloryosky’s opinion, the summer 2017 lineup is one of SPACE’s strongest-ever periods for Canadian science fiction programming, at least in quality terms. While Gloryosky wishes SPACE could bring Dark Matter into its original programming fold, Wynonna Earp has SPACE as a production partner for its second season. It’s a more logical home than CHCH, where the supernatural western felt at odds with CHCH’s overall programming strategy.

However long the summer Friday night lineup of Killjoys, Dark Matter and Wynonna Earp lasts is up to North American ratings, yet it’s rare to see a full night of Canadian prime time dramas on a non-CBC channel. Hopefully SPACE at least continues this trend in the years ahead.